Service Trips

As one of the first college Alternative Break Programs offered in the United States, Edmundite Father Steve Hornat created the program in 1986 while working in the Office of Campus Ministry. That first year, Fr. Steve traveled with five students to New York City’s Covenant House to do service work over Spring Break. This experience brought with it the opportunity to see life outside what is known and what is comfortable: to sit with others; to actively work beside another; to learn, to witness, and to participate. Over the years we have built many significant partnerships domestically and internationally offering St. Mike’s students a variety of opportunities to engage in service and stand for justice. MOVE service trips are offered during winter break, spring break, and following commencement.

MOVE always takes into account the safety of our students and community partners as the COVID-19 pandemic continues to evolve. Knowing that our service trips intentionally interact and live with vulnerable communities, the number of service trips offerings are subject to change each year in order to prioritize the health and well-being of our students, community parents  and communities which they serve. Please email move@smct.edu for more information.

MOVE Service Trip Program Mission and Purpose

To increase the awareness of global issues while inspiring local service.  The Service Trip Committee stresses the importance of group dynamics to create a safe environment which encourages and enables honest discussion and motivates individuals to work in collaboration towards a common goal.  It is our hope that participants will be instilled with sensitivity and respect for new cultures and populations as well as a continued passion for advocating for social justice upon return.

Service Trip Information Sessions:

There will be 2 chances for students to attend an informational session to learn about MOVE’s Service Trip Program, where service trips are taking place and what type of service occurs on a service trip, and more about the application and interview process.

  • September 13th, 7:30-8:30PM, Roy Conference Room in Dion Family Student Center
  • September 21st, 7:30-8:30PM, Roy Conference Room in Dion Family Student Center

Student participant applications open September 13th and close October 6th, 2023

Please email vcastillo@zora-living.com with any questions. 
23-24 Service Trip Committee Student Leader Contacts: 
  • Emma Gooley ’23 (egooley@mail.zora-living.com)
  • Lesley Rivera ’25 (lrivera@mail.zora-living.com)
  • Frank Loveland ’24 (floveland@mail.zora-living.com)
  • Charli Cancroft ’24 (ccancroft@mail.zora-living.com)
  • Makayla Blake ’24 (mblake3@mail.zora-living.com)
  • Lauren Best ’24 (lbest3@mail.zora-living.com)
  • Jeremy Ceballos ’24 (jceballos@mail.zora-living.com)